#PitchWars: Time To #PimpMyBio!

tenor

What’s up #PitchWars mentors and mentees. I have to admit, I’m kind of nervous. I’ve never done #PitchWars before, let alone #PimpMyBio. Not totally sure what is supposed to go in these things, but after cruising through a few posts, I am going to try my hand at it. As they say, you miss 100% of the opportunities you don’t try.

ABOUT MY MS:

If you are looking for a Robin Hood retelling with a mix of Six of CrowsVeronica Mars and Oceans 11, keep reading!

The book I am submitting to #PitchWars is called STAR OF XIANU. It is a YA Contemporary Fantasy about a badass lady thief, the Prince from another realm that blackmails her, the quest to find a stolen jewel, and how two total opposites fall in love.

As with everything I write, my book is #OwnVoices and features a diverse cast of characters.

If you like heists, lady thieves, hot and kind men, snarky women, royalty, Chinese influences, #BlackGirlMagic, stealing for the poor, strong family relationships, female friendships, sex positivity, and not-so-forbidden love, you might just love STAR OF XIANU.

AESTETHIC BOARD:

SoX Aesthetics

If you are interested in more pictures that has inspired STAR OF XIANU, check out my vision board.

COMPS:

  • Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo
  • Ghost Girl In the Corner by Daniel Jose Older
  • Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen
  • Oceans 11
  • Heist Society by Ally Carter
  • Veronica Mars
  • Tower Heist

MY FAVORITE AUTHORS/BOOKS/MOVIES:

  • All things Jane Austen
  • All things Alyssa Cole
  • Leverage
  • American Street by Ibi Zoboi
  • Harry Potter Series by J.K. Rowling
  • Gilmore Girls
  • Jessica Darling Series by Megan McCafferty
  • The Magicians
  • Throne of Glass Series by Sarah J. Maas
  • Kindred by Octavia Butler
  • Clueless
  • Their Eyes Were Watching God by Zora Neale Hurston
  • Labyrinth Lost by Zoraida Cordova
  • Gemma Doyle Series by Libba Bray
  • Miss Representation
  • Between the Covers

ABOUT ME:

Now, a little about me. I have lived in Atlanta almost all my life, but I have dreams of moving cross-country to L.A. I am a 28 year old grad student at Clark Atlanta University studying Literature, with a specialty in 18th century English lit and got my undergrad degree at Georgia State University.

I’ve been writing basically all my life and I don’t think I could ever stop, even if I never get published. I am a storyteller at heart. I am also an avid reader, and read what I write, namely romance and fantasy. Though I have self-published some romance, I want to go traditional for my YA.

I am almost constantly on Twitter and also spend a lot of time on Instagram and Pinterest.

MY MENTOR WISHLIST:

  • Willing to work on big and small picture edits with me
  • Not afraid to really dig down and tell me the issues with my MS
  • Doesn’t mind my anal organizational habits
  • Communicative and willing to brainstorm ideas
  • Willing to do more than one pass if time permits
  • Gives a mix of praise and critique
  • Hopefully, and most importantly, a lifelong friend

Thank you to Brenda Drake and the mentors for volunteering your time to help us aspiring authors.

source

Leave a Reply

