Summer of Color

Recently looking at my bookshelf, I realized that there was something missing. This was emphasized more when my friends would talk about various authors of whom I had never read. As much as I preach about the beauty of people of color, and especially women of color, they were missing from much of my reading.

Part of this is because publishing still has issues where the cis white male is held up as the gold standard and women of color often have problems breaking the barriers that keep them out of publishing. This is even more true for the two genres I spend most of my time reading in, romance and fantasy. But to be honest with myself, these are just excuses. If I want to read books by people that look like me, I can put in the effort to find them.

wowps_library_web_1250

It was with this in mind that I promised myself that over the summer I would only read books by women of color. Sure that means missing out on new releases I’ve been looking forward to, but those books will still be around in fall. The summer is for my ladies that don’t get the marketing they deserve. I’m putting my money where my mouth is.

From the beginning of June to the end of August it is going to be all women of color all the time. A few weeks ago I put out a call on Twitter for suggestions of authors and books I should check out and got amazing responses, but I am always happy to get more recs. There is no such thing as too many book recommendations and even if I don’t finish them all this summer, there is nothing stopping me from reading them after. So in the comments, if you have a book or author I should check out, let me know. I would love to add to my list.

This is just a peek at some of the books I plan to read.

Leave a Reply

